On the Move: Road Show/ Street Fest Exploratorium at Pier 15

Sunday, March 10, 2013 from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM


On March 10, 2013, we’re packing up and moving out—to bring a special, pre-opening festival to three different locations in San Francisco. On the Move features a fleet of moving trucks equipped with museum exhibits and experiences that will travel to the Embarcadero, Bayview, and Mission neighborhoods for an unforgettable event that’s part road show, part street festival, and all Exploratorium.

Look for art cars and lowriders, artworks, music, films, food, family activities, and presentations by community partners to accompany the trucks, which will convene at Pier 15 for evening programs and a spectacular finale.

Program Details

-------• • •LOCATION (1)• • •--------

EMBARCADERO, PIER 15

In partnership with Sunday Streets

11:00 a.m.–10:00 p.m.

Location: right across from Pier 15

Access by public transit: BART to Embarcadero; Muni F line

Featuring:

Artworks

El Pulpo Mecanico (http://www.elpulpomecanico.com/)

The Front Porch (http://www.thefrontporchandbessie.com/)

Fun Bike Unicorn Club (http://fbuc.org/)

Mission Pony (http://www.missionpony.com/)

Pacific Pinball Museum (http://pacificpinball.org/)

San Francisco Lowrider Council (http://www.sfgate.com/art/article/Once-lowly-lowriders-now-riding-high-4106179.php)

Performances

Prescott Circus Theatre Time TBD (http://www.prescottcircus.org/)

T.F. Buckaroos 11:15 a.m. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhWhIR8dYkA)

Gaucho 12:20 p.m. (http://www.gauchojazz.com/)

drea roemer and friends 1:30 p.m. (http://drea-music.com/)

Mark Growden Trio 2:25 p.m. (http://markgrowden.org/)

Emperor Norton's Jazz Band 3:15 p.m. (http://www.myspace.com/emperornortonsjazzband)

Gyasi Ross 3:50 p.m. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQDRoBClXMQ)

The Goat Family 5:00 p.m. (http://www.goatfamily.com/)

Lloyd Family Players 5:45 p.m. (http://www.theloydfamilyplayers.com/)

Hobo Paradise 6:25 p.m. (http://hoboparadise.com/)

Beso Negro 7:35 p.m. (http://www.besonegro.net/)

El Radio Fantastique 9:00 p.m. (http://elradiofantastique.com/)

Community Organizations

Sunday Streets (http://www.sundaystreetssf.com/)

The Bay Lights (http://thebaylights.org/)

The Girl Scouts of Northern California (http://www.girlscoutsnorcal.org/)

Exploratorium Exhibits and Activities:

•Community Filmmaking with Cinema Arts

•Cow Eye and Heart Dissections with Explainers

Cow Eye Dissections: Noon, 1:00, 3:00 & 4:00 p.m.

Heart Dissections: 2:00 & 6:00 p.m.

•Glove-a-phones with Explorables volunteers

•Glow Grotto

•Levity Chamber

•Lingua Casa

•True Colors

•Truck Stop Cinema

•Outdoor Exhibits

Food and Beer Garden

Curiosity Catering (https://twitter.com/curiositySF)

--------• • •LOCATION (2)• • •--------

BAYVIEW

11:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Bayview Opera House Ruth Williams Memorial Theatre

4705 Third Street

(http://www.bvoh.org/)

Access by public transit: Muni lines 15, 19, 23, 29, 44, 54, & T

Featuring:

Artworks

The Nautilus Submarine (http://fivetoncrane.org/projects/the-nautilus)

Performances

Danielle & KB Noon (http://www.youtube.com/danielleandkb45)

3SP – 3rd Street Productions 12:30 p.m. (http://3rdstyouth.org/)

Meplustwocrew 12:50 p.m. (https://www.facebook.com/meplustwocrew)

SFCR8IVE 1:00 p.m. (https://www.facebook.com/SFCR8IVE)

FA-ATASI Camp Unity SF 1:10 p.m. (https://www.facebook.com/people/SF-Faatasi/100004098097195)

Bobbie Webb 2:10 p.m. (http://www.bobbiewebb.com/)

Lloyd Family Players 2:40 p.m. (http://www.theloydfamilyplayers.com/)

Kynship 3:30 p.m. (http://www.myspace.com/KYNSHIP/music)

Community Organizations

Bayview Opera House Ruth Williams Memorial Theatre (http://www.bvoh.org/)

BMAGIC (http://bayviewmagic.org/)

American Red Cross Bay Area Chapter (http://www.redcross.org/ca/san-francisco

BAYCAT (http://www.baycat.org/)

Jump Start (http://www.jstart.org/)

KPOO (http://www.kpoo.com/)

SF Art Everywhere (http://www.sfarteverywhere.com/)

SF YouthLINE (http://www.youthlinesf.org/yl-live)

Parents for Public Schools (http://www.ppssf.org/)

The Girl Scouts of Northern California (http://www.girlscoutsnorcal.org/)

San Francisco Arts Commission (http://www.sfartscommission.org/)

Exploratorium Exhibits and Activities:

•Flower and Cow Eye Dissections with Explainers

Flower Dissections: Ongoing from Noon–3:00 p.m.

Cow Eye Dissection: 3:00 p.m.

•Light Boxes with Explorables volunteers

•Colored Shadows

•Outdoor Exhibits

Food

All Good Pizza (http://allgoodpizza.com/)

Auntie April’s (http://www.auntieaprils.com/)

--------• • •LOCATION (3)• • •--------

MISSION DISTRICT:

11:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Buena Vista Horace Mann K–8 (http://www.escuelabv.org/)

3351 23rd Street

Access by public transit: BART to 24th Street; Muni lines 12, 14, 27, 36, 48, 49, & 67

Featuring:

Artworks

The Electrobite Olenoides (http://formandreform.com/wordpress/?page_id=2311)

The Golden Mean Snail Car (http://formandreform.com/wordpress/?page_id=388)

The Golden Zeppelini (http://formandreform.com/wordpress/?cat=591)

San Francisco Lowrider Council (http://www.sfgate.com/art/article/Once-lowly-lowriders-now-riding-high-4106179.php)

Mission Pony (http://www.missionpony.com/)

Performances

Dreamtime Circus Time TBD (http://www.dreamtimecircus.org/)

Loco Bloco 11:45 a.m. & 12:30 p.m. (http://www.locobloco.org/)

Cuicacalli 1:00 p.m. (http://www.cuicacalliescueladedanza.org/)

Kelly McFarling & Megan Keely 1:55 p.m. (http://www.kellymcfarling.com/listen_buy_stuff/)

Los Chilis Verdes 3:00 p.m. (http://famoolyproductions.com/FamoolyProductions/Los_Chiles_Verdes.html)

Community Organizations

Buena Vista Horace Mann K–8 (http://www.escuelabv.org/)

American Red Cross Bay Area Chapter (http://www.redcross.org/ca/san-francisco)

Brava Theater Center (http://www.brava.org/)

Precita Eyes Muralists (http://www.precitaeyes.org/)

Community Mural Project: 11:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m.

Exploratorium Exhibits and Activities:

•Community Filmmaking with Cinema Arts

•Flower and Cow Eye Dissections with Explainers

Flower Dissections: Ongoing from Noon–3:00 p.m.

Cow Eye Dissection: 3:00 p.m.

•Tops with Explorables volunteers

•Illusionation

•Light Painting with the Tinkering Studio

•Shadow Box

•Outdoor Exhibits

Food

TBD

Price: Free!

Parking: Limited street parking. Public transportation (http://www.511.org/) is strongly encouraged.

With special thanks to PG&E, our Premier Opening Partner, and Salesforce, our Official Volunteer Sponsor, as well as Sunday Streets, Bayview Opera House, and Buena Vista Horace Mann K-8 school.


Get complimentary tickets to events like this!
Request an invite to Insiders Club.

or
On the Move: Road Show/ Street Fest Exploratorium

Pier 15

698 The Embarcadero, San Francisco